Mediterranean Shrimp Tacos

So the other night I was really craving fish tacos. Like real, soft tortilla, fall apart in your hand, West Coast tacos. But I have yet to master the art of cooking a mean fish/ not really sure what fish is best for fish tacos/ on that college budget. So I opted for the shrimp that was already in my freezer, and I wasn’t feeling a Mexican vibe. I wanted something crisp and refreshing, so I hopped on the internet and found the answer to my cravings in Mediterranean shrimp tacos! I skimmed through a bunch of recipes. I don’t usually follow once recipe in particular because I like to put my own personal spin on the dish, ya know? Now onto the fun stuff!

My dad always told me to get all the prep work done first and out of the way, so it’s one of the few golden rules of cooking I live by. It really makes the whole experience more enjoyable and run more smoothly. So, while the shrimp were a-thawing I prepped the marinade and salsa.

Marinade

  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • olive oil
  • chopped parsley
  • chopped basil
  • chopped cilantro
  • chopped garlic
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt & pepper to taste

Salsa

  • red onion
  • cherry tomatoes
  • oregano
  • splash of marinade

I marinade the shrimp for only a few minutes. Its important to pay attention because shrimp are one of the weaker proteins and will start to break down if marinaded too long especially in something acid like lemon juice. Sauté for 3-5 minutes on Med-High heat. Get a small sauce pan, or any flat bottom pan, warm on Low heat to heat up your tortillas. I used corn, but would recommend flour, only because the hold up better to all the good stuffins. Garnish with whatever you think will make it look pretty! I stayed in the the Mediterranean realm and went with sliced avocado, bean sprouts, and parsley.

Voila! Here we have a great version of seafood tacos that are really accessible on a college budget, and not too hard on the eyes.  This was also made with simple, healthy ingredients that you can find at your local grocer, bodega, or even better, the farmer’s market. Happy creating!

Leave a Reply

